Salsa Rice Bowl

I was wanting a rice bowl for lunch so I came up with a version of my old standby, the salsa rice bowl, which I have made for a quick-lunch since I was maybe 19? It was an easy college meal , I just dress it up more now!

Salsa Rice Bowl

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup lower sodium broth (vegetable or for non-vegetarian chicken or beef)
  • ½ cup salsa of choice
  • 1 14-ounce bag C&W Ultimate SouthWest Blend Vegetables
  • 1 cup instant rice (white or brown)
  • Grated cheese
  • 1 ripe avocado, peeled, pitted and diced

Directions:

Bring the broth, salsa and vegetable blend to a boil in a large saucepan. Add in the rice, stirring well. Cover tightly and take off the heat, let sit for 10 minutes (15 for brown). Fluff up the rice, divide between bowls. Top with cheese and avocado.

I served ours with a cheese quesdilla split among us.

Serves 2-3.

~Sarah

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts!

