Work In Progress – Slow Cooker Oatmeal

This was the first try at doing oatmeal in a slow cooker for me. I wasn’t exactly impressed by the results. I had worked off a recipe I saw on Meatless Mondays. The biggest issues I had been the nuts – they got soggy – and the dates – were over powering. It also desperately needed salt. I am going to work on it though and see if I can get a recipe I like, it was nice to stroll down to breakfast ready and hot.

Oh yeah, and I need to get a pot scraper. No matter what anyone says to use, that oatmeal fries on the sides! I am still soaking the cooker insert hours later….

Anyhow, keep an eye out, I will be trying more versions, we shall find one we all like!

Slow Cooker Oatmeal Version 1 – Millet and Fruit Oats

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups water
  • 1 medium gala apple, peeled, cored and diced
  • 1 cup dates, chopped (about 10 Medjool dates, pitted)
  • Β½ cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 tsp lemon juice (bottled is OK)
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1/3 cup millet
  • 2 Tbsp brown sugar, packed
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • ΒΌ tsp kosher salt
  • Pinch ground cardamom
  • Pinch ground ginger

Directions:

Add everything to your slow cooker, cover and turn on to low and let cook overnight (about 8 hours).

Stir well.

Serves 3.

~Sarah

Comments

  1. spray the crock pot w cooking spray and it wont stick.

    • I did that the first times but for me it didn’t work on the bottom. With apples making a “bed” on the bottom no issues after that πŸ™‚

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts!

