Book Review: Money Secrets Of The Amish

In ways I felt like I was reading my life as I went through Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving by Lorilee Craker. Well, not the author’s life but the frugal people who make up the book! I was raised where having a garden, canning, baking, dehydrating food and buying used was considered normal. Not till my adult years did I buy my first NEW appliance. To this day I often end up returning impulse buys, I get home and think it over and realize I don’t really need it. Drives my husband batty at times as I justify why I don’t need things.

The first half of the book is the backstory of how she got the idea, her meetings with Amish folk and so on. Once you get about halfway through the book she starts talking more about how one can live with less but also get more for your money if you make conscious decisions. This is where I found myself – we just called it frugal growing up! If one is new going frugal they can learn new ways of saving – buying used, buying bulk, making do, etc. I didn’t agree with everything but her points are solid (example – she isn’t sold on clubs such as Costco for herself, where as I save quite a bit by shopping in bulk. Although her points are valid – if all you do is buy junk food there is no savings in it, if it cause you to buy even more junk. Point taken!)

I would recommend the book for those interested in a simpler life, those already that way may find the book lacking though.

~Sarah

FTC Disclaimer: We received a copy of this book from Book Sneeze for potential review.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts!

