Wow….That Was A Flop-O-Rama!

I get excited when I find new-to-me raw food cookbooks so when my copy of Raw Food: A Complete Guide for Every Meal of the Day came in I started reading it right away.

Well…apparently I picked the wrong recipe to try. I mean REALLY picked the wrong recipe. It was so bad that as I was taking a tiny taste of it towards my mouth my brain was saying “NOOOOOOO!!!!!”. Kirk was “It can’t be that bad” and then he was spitting it out.

I had wondered as I prepared the recipe that the amount of cloves called seemed rather high…but hey, I am open to new things. When done and tasted all I could think of was that taste you get in your mouth after a root canal – from the clove formula they put in. Or rather maybe if I had taken up smoking clove cigarettes in high school……

To be fair, I will give the book another try. I think this recipe might have been good with no cloves or at least no more than a pinch. Anyways, here is the recipe as made:

Gingerbread Cookies

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup almonds
  • ½ Tbsp canola oil
  • 2 dates (pitted, used Medjool)
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground cloves
  • ½ tsp ground ginger
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 Tbsp raw agave nectar (or honey for non-vegan)

Directions:

In a food processor grind the almonds to almond meal.

Add the oil and dates, process until mixed in.

Sprinkle in the spices and salt, min in.

Add the agave and process until mixed.

Use a disher to make balls and roll smooth.

~Sarah

Comments

  1. Yowch, that’s a lot of clove! I hope it was a misprint and it was supposed to say 1/4 tsp or something like that!

  2. Wow…bummer. There are so many times I am mad at myself for following a recipe when my intuition tells me otherwise. We have all done it 🙂

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts!

