Wondering If This Recipe Will Work?

A friend sent this recipe along to me awhile back. I really have the love of Stevia in food – and the previous weekend I ran into a local jam seller who was creating a run of Stevia jams  (Chelane’s)– I picked up a strawberry jar. Her recipe is ultra thick, more like a fruit spread than jam. Tart and tangy, it is very good.The only downside is the cost ($8 a large jar) but I would add it is well worth the cost – neither berries nor Stevia is cheap. And they use nice jars as well! (And let’s be honest I don’t always need 8 jars of jam, sometimes it is nice to just pick up one jar at a time!)

After talking with her I learned she doesn’t use water in the Stevia versions of their jam – where as this recipe below does. It leaves me wondering if this recipe would work. We shall see, hopefully this summer I’ll have a chance to try it out.

Raspberry Jam with Stevia
Ingredients:

  • 1 packet no sugar needed pectin
  • ¾ cup cold water
  • 3 cups raspberries (fresh or frozen)
  • 1 Tbsp stevia
  • ¼ tsp ground cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp ground cloves

Directions:

Mash the raspberries with a potato masher.

In a saucepan, combine pectin and water. Bring to a boil and reduce
heat to medium. Simmer for 1 minute, stirring constantly.

Add raspberries and continue cooking for 1 minute stirring constantly.
Stir in stevia, cinnamon and cloves, remove from heat and let sit in hot
pan for 2 minutes, skimming off any foam if needed.

Ladle into prepared jars leaving a 1/4″ head space. process jars in a
boiling water bath for 10 minutes. Adjust time according to your altitude. (For further instructions use a trusted canning books such as Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving.)

NOTE: This jam also freezes well.

~Sarah

Comments

  1. I was wondering if you made this jam. Am looking to start making my jams & jellies for diabetics.

  2. Thank you for enjoying our jam. I am co-owner with my wife Nicki. She really strives to make a good product. And you are correct, The fruit and stevia do drive the cost up a little bit.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts!

