Sunday Slipping Away (And A Recipe)

My morning started weird enough. I woke up early in the morning with the start of a bad leg cramp. How is it with every baby the cramps come earlier? Or maybe I forget about it πŸ˜‰ As I was sitting up in bed, stretching my leg, 90% asleep, I was brushing my hair back with my fingers, raking them through. I hooked my engagement ring onto my top stud earring, a white gold with sapphire setting. That had to be one of the most painful things I have done. By the time it hit my sleepy mind I had dragged it back good. I was howling, leg cramp all and forgotten. Poor Kirk, my screaming about knocked him out of bed. I got disconnected (the problem is my rings get loose at night and can spin, the earring got sucked under the ring) and looked at my ear. It was bleeding but didn’t look like I had ripped the hole too badly so I went back to bed and passed back out with a nice throbbing feeling. I woke up later and figured I better get the earring out. It was not a pretty sight. The good news is white gold bends. Had it been stainless steel I probably would have ripped my hole straight out. Getting the stud out though wasn’t fun, it had a good angle to it. My ear was bruised as well. Kirk offered to drive me up North to the jewelry store we had bought the set at (before the recession we had a branch nearby which I miss very much!). I wear studs in my ears for the three piercings I have, two diamond sets and the top are sapphires, all of which came from Shane Co. We drove up and the customer service was excellent as always. They took the earring and had it fixed in a couple of minutes, looking like new – under full warranty. Yay! Although my ear isn’t looking quite as charming. I figure a couple of days to heal and then I can put it back in. Lesson learned. Keep hands out of hair when nearly asleep.

Out puttering before the jewelry store had opened Kirk asked if I wanted to go browse Williams-Sonoma while he ran into REI a few shops down. But of course! I treated myself to a couple of fun items because I deserved it. Or something. I don’t get there often and I love wandering. But lesson learned – having Walker walk and not using a stroller was a bit overwhelming. He loves strutting around and loooooves touching shiny items – which that store is full of. I ended up carrying him through while I shopped, just so I didn’t have a bag of broken glass bottles to buy πŸ˜‰

I love their spice section. They have items that are very hard to find elsewhere. I picked up dried Blood Orange Peel:

And dried Lime Peel:

Both are heavenly and while most things in SW-S are on the pricy side, the spices are not. $7.95 for a large jar for many of the spices is many times less than one pays at the grocery store! The glass jars are gorgeous as well.

But what I couldn’t pass up was a shiny glass jar of Pickled Beets and Strawberries:

I know…I saw the price and was fanning myself but my pregnant brain was whispering “You know these are going to be the best pickles ever”. Just imagine the pregnant devil on your shoulder poking you. Better it be $13 pickles than $13 of Supreme Cheesecake or $13 of Big Macs.

When we got home I opened up the jar and yes, it was preggo nirvana. Thinly sliced beets with crunch (a non mushy pickled beet? Priceless.) Walker happily ate the strawberries. My boy indeed. But knowing who made the beets I wasn’t shocked. I first heard about the Blackberry Farm last year when we had traveled to the Great Smoky Mountains. To say the least….the farm starts at $745 a night and goes past $5,000 a night. Their food I can afford at least. Well at least a jar of pickles πŸ˜‰

On the way to checking out I saw a display for fall baking and they had fall themed pie crust cutters, which I had been wanting after an article in this month’s issue of Vegetarian Times. Now I can make a fancy pie crust for my pumpkin pie idea at Thanksgiving!

When we got home I was pretty tired and at first was ready to feed everyone cereal. Well that wasn’t a good meal and I knew it. So I looked at what I had on hand and made a quick light sauce while I brought the water to boil for ravioli that I had one hand. The sauce was very nice although I might leave the onions out next time – it could have gone either way with them. And within 20 or so minutes we had dinner in front of us. It wasn’t big but with a salad and bread it would have been a huge dinner (we were not starving but wanted something small). The sauce was based on a Piccata concept but not as heavy. I left the butter out and used about a 1/3 of the fat normally called for. I don’t always use fresh lemons due to the cost here in the cold PNW but this recipe really calls for the real thing!

I didn’t get a photo though, it was late and well…..I was very hungry suddenly!

Artichoke Piccata Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 onion, peeled and diced
  • 1 Tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup lower sodium vegetable broth (or chicken for non-vegetarian)
  • Β½ cup marinated artichokes, diced (mostly drained
  • 1 Tbsp capers, drained
  • 1 small lemon, zested and juiced (between 1-2 Tbsp juice)
  • ΒΌ tsp ground black pepper (or to taste)
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Ravioli to top (for 3-4 people)

Directions:

Heat a large non-stick skillet over medium heat, add the oil and onion, cook until tender. Sprinkle the flour on and let cook for a couple of minutes. Stir in the broth until smooth, turn to medium-low. Add in the artichokes and capers, let thicken, stirring often. Stir in the lemon zest, juice and pepper. Season with salt as desired.

Serve over hot ravioli (we had garden vegetable ones) and top with Parmesan cheese liberally.

Serves 3-4.

~Sarah

Comments

  1. Oh…I forgot about those leg cramps while I was pregnant. I remember screaming & Rich half asleep leaping to my aid.
    BUT – it sounds like you had a heck of a time with the ring getting caught on your earring – I had to laugh – it sounds like something that would happen to me…glad I’m not the only one!

    Dinner sounds like the perfect ending to a rough day!

    • I still haven’t gotten that dumb earring back in! Doh…..be glad when my ear goes back to normal πŸ˜‰ Thankfully Kirk knows to hold my legs flat if I wake up howling πŸ˜€ Good husband!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts!

