Trash Night: Meals That Remind Me Of My Childhood

For all the “healthy” food I cram onto our plates there are times I want nothing more than the trashy meals I ate as a kid. It isn’t often but sometimes I just cannot resist. Maybe it is being pregnant but I was at the store the other day and all I wanted was a plate of beef stroganoff over mashed taters. Made with cream of mushroom soup. I caved big time and enjoyed every bad for me bite!

I did at least try to make it a bit healthier by using lower sodium/fat soup and adding sweet potatoes for color to the mashers. Delicious indulgence!

Hamburger Stroganoff

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground hamburger (all natural preferably)
  • 1 onion, peeled and chopped
  • 8 ounces crimini or white button mushrooms, chopped
  • 1 can Healthy Request© cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 soup can of low-fat milk
  • 1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce (used lower sodium)
  • 1 Tbsp dried parsley
  • 2 tsp granulated garlic
  • ½ tsp paprika
  • ¼ tsp ground black pepper
  • ½ cup sour cream (regular or lower-fat)
  • 4 medium-sized russet potatoes (about 1½ lbs)
  • 1 sweet potato/yam (about 1 lb)
  • ½ cup low-fat milk
  • ¼ cup butter or non-hydrogenated margarine

Directions:

Peel the potatoes and yam, cut into large chunks. Add to a tall saucepan, cover with cold water and bring to a boil. Let boil gently for 10 minutes, or until fork tender. Drain well, add the milk and butter to the pan, return to low heat and let butter melt. Add the potatoes and mash till smooth.

Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat, add in the beef, onions and hamburger, cook until the meat is fully done, breaking into small pieces.

Mix up the sauce (except for the sour cream) in a mixing bowl, add to the hamburger and let heat through on medium heat, until bubbling. Stir in the cour cream, turn to low and let warm through.

Divide the mashed potatoes and top with the gravy.

Serves 4.

~Sarah

Comments

  1. Oh, the cravings we have while pregnant are fun! Mine was sushi with my first (weird) and peanut butter and banana sandwiches with my second. This doesn’t look too trashy to me, better than my trash night go to meal which is Kraft Dinner (shhh!)

  2. Looks like comfort food to me…sign me up!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts!

