Nueva Cocina’s Caribbean Coconut Rice Pudding

Having received boxes of Nueva Cocina Coconut Raisin Rice (Arroz con Coco) mix to try, I pondered what to try first recipe wise. To be honest I had never come across the line of products before, but oh wow, I wish I had! The line is Latin cuisine and nearly all their products are gluten-free and vegetarian.The company sells directly on their website for easy finds.

I ended up trying out the recipe I had received from them, but did tweak it a bit to lower the cholesterol and fat (simple substitutions – milk for cream, Egg Beaters© for the egg). Just cooking up the rice mix left my house smelling wonderful! It alone is comfort food out of the pot – it was hard for me to only take a single spoon worth and not just oink out there. And I am not normally a fan of rice mixes – most are just too salty or fake tasting, this one worked well on all accounts.

Expect another recipe soon, a savory choice, as I have more to try out (I really can hear it calling for shrimp and vegetables!) but this time…..comforting rice pudding called to me! So delicious, even being made lower-fat!

Nueva Cocina’s Caribbean Coconut Rice Pudding

Ingredients:

  • 1 pkg. Nueva Cocina Coconut Raisin Rice (cook according to package directions)
  • ¼ cup pure maple syrup
  • ¼ cup Egg Beaters© (or 1 egg)
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 cup low-fat milk (called for heavy cream)

Directions:

Cook the rice according to package directions, take off the heat , fluff up and transfer to a large mixing bowl. Let cool a bit.

Preheat the oven to 350° and spray a baking dish with cooking spray (I used a 1½ quart FireKing, anything in that size up to 2 quarts works).

Whisk the remaining ingredients together, pour over the rice and stir well. Pour into the prepared dish and bake for 30 minutes.

Serve warm, topped with more maple syrup as desired. Once chilled the pudding thickens up considerably, it is creamier warm.

Serves 4 to 6.

~Sarah

FTC Disclaimer: We received complimentary products for potential review.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts!

