Chai Spiced Oatmeal

I am always looking for new ideas for oatmeal, considering Kirk, Walker and I eat it 6 to 7 days a week for breakfast. No one in this house wants boring oats! I adapted a recipe out of Whole Grains for Busy People: Fast, Flavor-Packed Meals and More for Everyone, page 162.

I cooked it the way I prefer, where I bring everything a boil, rather than adding the oats in after boiling. Either way works, just what I like.

Chai Spiced Oatmeal

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups milk (I used unsweetened coconut milk)
  • 1 cup old fashioned oats
  • ¼ cup golden raisins
  • 2 Tbsp honey, plus more for topping
  • ½ tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/8 tsp ground cardamom
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • ½ tsp pure vanilla extract
  • Diced macadamia nuts for topping (or other preferred nut)

Directions:

Add through salt to a medium saucepan, bring to a boil. Turn to medium-low and cook for 5 minutes, stirring often. Take off teh heat and add in teh vanilla.

Serve sprinkled with nuts and a drizzle more honey.

Serves 2.

~Sarah

Comments

  1. Wow. That sounds amazing. Thanks so much for sharing. I’m always looking for a new oat dish and this one is VERY different. Yay!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts!

