Cranberry Apple Whip

Wednesday I played with an idea – a take on cranberry sauce that is smooth, tart, thick and creamy. It makes a wonderful spread on sandwiches as well. It was my new recipe this year for our Thanksgiving table…and while I wasn’t going to post today (being a holiday) I had to share it! Yum!

Do make it the day before, it needs time for the flavors to meld. Honestly, right after I had made it I could taste/smell the tofu and just wasn’t sure, so much I made sure we had traditional cranberry sauce on the table. Come 24 hours later, when I tasted it? Yum! It was perfect! It just needed time.

Cranberry Apple Whip

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups sliced apples, peeled (3-4 apples), preferably organic
  • 2 cusp fresh or frozen cranberries, preferably organic
  • ½ cup apple juice or cider, preferably organic
  • ½ cup granulated sugar, preferably organic
  • Zest of 1 orange, preferably organic
  • 1 pound silken tofu, preferably organic

Directions:

Add the apples, cranberries, apple juice, sugar and zest in a large saucepan. Heat over medium, covered, until fruit is tender and thick.

Meanwhile, drain the tofu in a fine mesh strainer over a bowl, discard the drained water, mash the tofu.

Take off the stove, cool a bit. Add to a high-speed blender, such as a Vitamix, process on medium (5 on a Vitamix) till mostly smooth.

Add the tofu in, process on low until smooth, scraping the sides as needed.

Chill overnight before serving.

This can also be prepared in a food processor on high, although it will take longer.

Serves 8.

~Sarah

Comments

  1. mmm, I made chocolate pudding with silken tofu, but will have to try this one for sure looks yummy!

  2. Yummm! I had the same idea too! I will post my recipe soon! 🙂 What a great & tasty idea & recipe too! MMMM!

  3. petit4chocolatier says:

    Sarah, very yummy!!

  4. Funny how things like this just need a little setting time to absorb flavors and get rid of the tofu flavor. Totally been there!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts!

