Pumpkin Frappe & Book Giveaway

In my world, Sarah’s Espresso Hut should always be open, and thankfully it usually is! Today’s cold n’ creamy treat is a plant-based frappe that isn’t overly sweet. So, if you are craving sugar, ramp the maple syrup up! Perfect for dealing with a pesky head-cold…..and way healthier than a Frappe at ol’ Green Mermaid’s Hut.

PumpkinFrappe1

If you don’t have 2 shots of espresso handy, use cold-brewed espresso, between ¼ to ½ cup – or use a teaspoon or two of  instant espresso powder, a packet of VIA or feel free to leave the coffee out for a pumpkin-maple smoothie.

PumpkinFrappe2

Why, yes, I do have adult sippy lids for my mason jars 😉 No more messes when my toddler knocks my glass over for the 1,000th time…..

Pumpkin Frappe

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 shots espresso
  • ¼ cup pumpkin purée
  • 1 to 2 Tbsp pure maple syrup
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 ripe banana, sliced and frozen
  • ½ cup ice cubes

Directions:

Add the almond milk through pumpkin spice to a high-speed blender, blend on low. Add in banana and ice, process on high, tamping as needed.

Serve with a large straw.

Serves 1 Venti or 2 smaller drinks (the mason jar above has about 20 ounces in it).

Book Giveaway:

Joe

When Kirk purchased my Breville Espresso Machine, it came with an offer to receive a copy of Joe: The Coffee Book. I snagged the deal and got my copy. The book practically screams “Hipster!”.

If you love coffee culture, it is a good read. It does lay open the love of it, and how hard some will go to find the perfect cup. And if you have never been a barista, you might just learn how to do latte art and how to pull a “perfect” shot. I put my 9 years in behind a hot machine, and I’ll be honest – the last thing I care about in the morning is crafting a pretty heart on my latte. Hehe. I just want my mental boost.

Anyhow, it is an enjoyable read, with many photos throughout, that tell the tale of a New York independent chain, but also of other independents across the country. It is a great coffee table book, a good conversation starter. Since I don’t ‘need’ my copy, I’d like to share it with one of my readers.

Enter below, using the Rafflecopter link, for a copy of the book. US residents only, please.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

~Sarah

Comments

  1. Yum! That looks delicious. I love the pictures.

  2. I agree with Anne Marie! The picture of your frappe is gorgeously framed. And the adult sippee lid is totally genius.
    -Dana

  3. I do this without the espresso, and with frozen pumpkin instead of ice! I bought a massive can of pumpkin on sale, and froze it in an ice cube tray. It works marvellously, and if you want to thin it out you can add a little water or extra almond milk.

  4. Mmmm pumpkin!!

  5. I would love this right about now!

  6. Nice flavors! You’ve got the frappe thing nailed!

  7. Looks like an interesting book.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts!

