Vegan Lime Pudding Pie

I was supposed to have been backpacking last weekend, but that wasn’t to be. A storm advisory was up and where my friend Dani and I were heading, it was slated to get up to 2 feet of snow, along with the real issue – really bad winds. I can say the winds did happen, and are going again currently. The wind chimes have been slamming back and forth today. Kirk and I hiked in the wind on Saturday and had a nice time – sandblasted and all. And being that we were on an island, and not at home, all we had was wind – and no snow (or rain either).

Limepie3

So instead, I spent Sunday getting inspired. Mostly by a large bag of limes that jumped in my cart at Trader Joe’s on Sunday morning. I was thinking of what to do with them, outside of the first recipe I was making (that will come soon as well). It crossed my mind that I hadn’t made a lime pie. Ever. Key Lime and regular Lime Pie is usually full of condensed milk and or cream cheese and a lot of green food coloring. What if instead I made it with coconut sugar and coconut milk, which would compliment the bitter and tart lime juice?

Limepie1

My Lime Pudding Pie was born. No green at all. Rather, a deep caramel color from the tawny sugar, with speckles of green lime zest. Tart, sweet and cool. Loved it!

Limepie2

Vegan Lime Pudding Pie

Ingredients:

  • 1 graham cracker crust (or favorite pie shell, your choice)
  • 2½ cups unsweetened non-dairy milk (almond or coconut)
  • 1 cup coconut sugar
  • 5 Tbsp cornstarch or preferred thickener
  • ¼ to ½ cup freshly squeezed lime juice
  • 2 tsp lime zest
  • ¼ tsp fine sea salt

Directions:

Whisk the ingredients until smooth in a heavy, large saucepan. Bring to a boil over medium heat, whisking constantly, until thickened. Take off the heat, let cool a bit, stirring often to prevent a skin from forming.

Spread in prepared pie crust, chill for a couple of hours or overnight.

Note:

How much lime juice you use is up to you. I used ½ cup for a stronger flavor, for a sweet pie use ¼ cup.

Makes 1 pie.

Walker helping me on Sunday night, with his IKEA tools. He went and got his rolling-pin, and rolled out a tiny pizza, along the big ones. Then we topped it and baked it. He was so excited when it came out, and devoured it! Win for Mommy!

LimePie4

~Sarah

Comments

  1. Be still my heart! This just took my breath away. You have a gift for creamy desserts! I’m sharing a soup with lime on Wednesday! I LOVE LIME!

  2. Looks delicous Sarah! I love lime so much in savory but not typically in desserts, but this looks good!

    • I’d agree – I love lime in Thai food a lot. It is one reason I added a strong helping of lime juice to the pie. Kept it from being too sweet.

  3. Oh dear lord. Why can’t we just be neighbors?

  4. MMMMMMMMM!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts!

