Artichoke & Two Tomato Spaghetti

Taking a break from all my garden postings of late…lets talk carb-fixes & a quick dinner! Like last night where my afternoon slipped by and suddenly it was nearly 6 pm and I had 3 hungry kids staring me down. We ate and I went back to work outside. It has compelled to get these projects done! Although at times it feels like all I do is move dirt and rocks from one pile to another pile and then back again….but I have this image in my mind – and I want to get there 🙂
Artipasta1

Artichoke & Two Tomato Spaghetti

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound spaghetti
  • ¼ cup finely grated Parmesan cheese, plus more for topping
  • ¼ cup olive oil
  • 1 large sweet onion, finely chopped
  • 10 ounces grape tomatoes, rinsed and drained
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 28 ounce can unsalted tomatoes with basil
  • 14 ounce can artichoke hearts, finely chopped
  • 2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp granulated sugar
  • ¼ tsp fine sea salt
  • ¼ tsp ground black pepper

Artipasta2

Directions:

Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to boil, add spaghetti and cook for time on package. Reserve ¼ cup of cooking water, drain pasta. Return pasta to cooking pot, toss with Parmesan cheese and water.

Meanwhile, heat a large skillet over medium. Add oil and onion, sauté for 5 minutes. Stir in grape tomatoes, sauté for 5 minutes, pressing gently to pop. Stir in garlic, cook for a minute.

Add tomatoes, artichokes, vinegar, sugar, salt and pepper. Bring to a simmer, lower heat to medium-low and simmer gently. Break up tomatoes with a potato masher. Taste for seasoning.

Toss hot pasta with sauce, serve with more cheese if desired.

Serves 4 to 6.

~Sarah

Comments

  1. Mmmm. I love anything with artichokes, it’s one of my favorite foods. Another great dish Sarah!

  2. Pasta is the best last minute meal!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts!

